2016 Untold Stories Award Winners

Mikki Taylor Author, Speaker, Editor-at-Large, ESSENCE Magazine President, Mikki Taylor Enterprises, LLC

Mikki Taylor is the quintessential authority on all matters regarding beauty, style and empowerment.

For over 30 years, Taylor served as ESSENCE Magazine’s groundbreaking Beauty & Cover Director, and is now Editor-at-Large for the publication which serves an audience 11.5 million readers. In addition, she is a popular motivational speaker, author, creative strategist and President of Mikki Taylor Enterprises, LLC, a strategic communications, image building and branding company.

Taylor's journey includes a wealth of media appearances, (The Insider, OWN, Today with Kathie Lee Gifford and Hoda Kotb, The View, Steve Harvey Show, EXTRA, CNN, Good Morning America and BET), countless speaking and hosting engagements, (ESSENCE Black Women in Hollywood Awards, Disney Dreamers Academy with Steve Harvey and ESSENCE Magazine, TD Jakes’ MegaFest, WNBA & WNBPA Player Orientation and Power Tour, Florida A & M 2014 Commencement, BET’s Leading Women Defined Summit, Odyssey Media & Coca Cola In The Black Tour) and audiences with some of the world’s most fascinating and influential people including Michelle Obama, Sidney Poitier, and Beyoncé. One of Taylor's most treasured experiences was serving as an instructor at the Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls in South Africa at the special invitation of Oprah Winfrey. >>Read More

Fran Burst-Terranella is an EMMY-winning independent film and television Director and Producer. Her award-winning work spans 4 decades and totals more than 700 productions – from television shows, commercials, PSAs and documentaries to branded entertainment, corporate marketing and motivational projects and fundraising, identity and special event projects for non-profits.

A multi-faceted Director with the ability to quickly build rapport with everyone who appears in front of her camera, Fran has just completed her first narrative feature film - "The 12 Lives of Sissy Carlyle." In this darkly comic independent film, Sissy Carlyle - determined to experience a life less ordinary - creates fantastic, sometimes absurd, always exciting alternative lives for herself in her secret journals.

Fran’s documentaries have aired nationally on ABC, TBS and PBS and her narrative and documentary work has garnered more than 100 honors including Tellys, CINE Golden Eagles and recognition at film festivals from New York, Chicago, Houston, Atlanta and Los Angeles to Australia, Scotland, Spain and Canada. >>Read More


MARCH 11th, 2016
Intercontinental Hotel Buckhead


For more information call: (404) 272-3385.


The second annual Bentonville Film Festival will be held May 3-8 in Bentonville, Arkansas. Academy Award winning actress Geena Davis partnered with ARC Entertainment, Walmart, Coca-Cola and AMC Theaters to found the festival last year. The festival supports women and diversity in the media. Bentonville Film Festival is currently accepting submissions at http://bentonvillefilmfestival.com/submissions/.

March 10th - 12th, 2016

The Black Women Film Network (BWFN) is proud to announce the Black Women Film Summitís 12th Annual Film Festival, taking place March 10th - 12th, 2016 in Atlanta, Georgia, during the Black Women Film Summit Weekend.

The Summit is a three-day cultural celebration of black women in the arts and entertainment during Womenís History Month.

The Black Women Film Festival has opened this yearís competition to film shorts that meet the fol-lowing criteria:

1. The short must be produced, and/or written, and/or directed by a female filmmaker
2. The short should feature women of African descent or a storyline centered on women of color
3. The short must be produced post January 2014
4. The short must be no more than 45 minutes in length

All submissions must be post-marked by February 15th, 2016 and the cost is $45 per film submission.

The cost for student filmmakers is $25 per film, with the same deadline of February 15th, 2016.

Selected filmmakers will be notified by March 2016.

Entries can be uploaded online by clicking this link
Two DVD copies must also be submitted with the attached form and a check payable to:

Black Women Film Network
Post Office Box 311288
Atlanta, Georgia 31131

You can also send the entry fee via the website. For questions email blackwomenfilmnetwork@gmail.com.

Black Women Film Summit Sponsors


2015 Untold Stories Honorees

  Logan Browning  |  Lamman Rucker   |  Tomika DePriest   |  Ga Production Partnership

bronner lamman tomika gpp

Shante Bacon   |    Will Packer     |    Robi Reed     |     Tia Powell

shante will robi tia

2014 Untold Stories Honorees

Kashira Alexander  | Bernard Bronner | Jocelyn Dorsey 

kash bronner jocelyn

Katerina Graham | A.J. Johnson  |   Deidre McDonald   |   Crystal Fox

katerina aj deidre Crystal

Click here to view previous Untold Stories Honorees



BET Networks

Upscale Magazine

Spelman College

Atlanta Technical College

CW/CBS Networks


Atlanta Convention & Visitors Bureau

Atlanta Daily World

Marriott Atlanta Marquis

National Black College Alumni